There are a few reasons as to why I don’t date/have romantic relationships. The majority of my friends know that I have never dated anyone so far in my life and some of them think it’s a problem. Sometimes I do agree but on the other hand I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it. So I’m going to talk about why I haven’t really tried to date.

  1. Because I have depression. When it comes to dating someone I feel that I would push him away. Whenever people get to close or get to know more than I want them to about me I keep them at a distance. I feel like I burden people with my problems so it’s best for me to just say “I’m okay.” They would have to be able to handle my emotional rollercoaster and that’s a lot to ask of someone.
  2. Because I have trust issues. I always have this fear of being taken advantage of so I’m never interested in being alone with guys but I don’t feel that I would be able to explain to them why. I have a good reason of why but there’s the possibility that afterwards they will treat me differently. I’m aware that I already am different but I still want to be treated like a normal person. I do believe there are guys out there that will understand and respect my boundaries.
  3. No one has ever asked. Whenever any of my friends ask me why I haven’t dated anyone it’s because no guy has ever asked. If a guy that I know were to ask me out I would probably say yes.
  4. Because I have an eating disorder. Even just going out with my friends is hard sometimes because they will ask when the last time I’ve eaten which is frustrating sometimes because if I haven’t they will bug me about it. Eating in front of people makes me very self-conscious and I don’t enjoy doing it.
  5. I don’t want the relationship to revolve around me and my wellbeing. I feel like it would be easy for the spotlight to be on me for the majority of the time and that makes me nervous. I don’t want them to be concerned about me all of the time and worrying that they might say the wrong thing and it will set me off. I don’t want that because I have my parents to do that.
  6. Because I’m okay with being single. I’m not one of those girls who has to date someone to feel like they’re loved. Also, I’ve seen so many girls become super attached to their boyfriends and when they break up it’s devastating to them. I honestly don’t think that I am that type of girl but I feel like in our society that’s what girls are expected to do. I feel like if I were to date someone and we broke up, I would hope that it would be maturely and mutually. I have standard as most girls do but I am flexible with all of them except for one; they have to be a Christian, and not just someone who says they are. I know that it cuts down the amount of guys there are but my thing is if they can love everyone as Christ did then I know that they can love me.